1.   FIND the daily lesson questions below.

2   REVIEW the information under LESSONS.

3.  TUNE to KY3's 5 PM weather for answers.

 

 

Mon. March 1,  Lesson 16:  Satellites 


At least one satellite that monitor's the Earth's weather is operated by
 

A.  only the U..S.
B.  the U.S. and three others
C.  the U.S. and five others

=================================

Fri. Feb 26, Lesson 15:  Fronts 

A “warm front” means

A.  cold air rising above warmer air  
B.  two warm air masses colliding   
C.  warm air rising above colder air

Thu. Feb 25, Lesson 14:  Highs and Lows

A low pressure system in winter typically produces the heaviest snow

A.  north of the center    
B.  south of the center    
C.  in its center

 

Wed. Feb 24, Lesson 13: Weather Data 2
A “radiosonde” collects weather data

A.  above the surface   B. on the ocean   C.  deep in the ocean

Tue. Feb 23, Lesson 12:  Weather Data 1

On a clear night, a blanket of snow means temperatures will be

A. warmer     B. colder    C.  holding steady

Mon. Feb 22, Lesson 11 Maps  

The first weather maps from observations taken at the same time began in the   

A. 1940s     B. 1920s    C.  1860s

Fri. Feb 19, Lesson 10Pressure

Every square inch of air at the Earth’s surface is 
A. warm temperatures        
B.  about 15 pounds of air    
C. calm air 

Thu. Feb 18, Lesson 9Wind 

Wind is caused by changes in  

A.  temperature     B. cloud cover   C. pressure

Wed. Feb 17, Lesson 8Humidity   

"Relative" humidity is relative to   
A. temperature    B. time    C.  season

Tue. Feb 16, Lesson 7:  Temperature 

Warm air rises except when there is

A. a strong wind

B. low pressure    

C. an inversion

Mon, Feb 15, Lesson 6:  Solar Energy    

Compared to the sun's average temperature,
sunspots appear "darker" because they are 

A.  hotter     B.  cooler     C.  solid

 

Fri. Feb 12. Lesson 5: Observing  

You can submit your own observations to us

using KY3’s Weatherschool app, but the official

NWS temperature is always recorded 

A. in the sun    

B. in the shade

C. over a concrete surface

Thu., Feb 11. Lesson 4:  Storm  

The least common type of thunderstorm is the

A. single-cell      B. supercell     C.  multi-cell

Wed., Feb 10. Lesson 3: Precipitation 

What is required for a raindrop to form?
A.  freezing temperatures     B.  lightning      C.  dust

Tues., Feb 9, Lesson 2Clouds 

Which cloud type is associated with precipitation?

A. nimbostratus     B. cumulus     C. cirrus
HINT: see cloud flashcards

Mon, Feb 8, Lesson 1The Sky 

Nearly all of our weather occurs in the

A. troposphere     B. stratosphere     C. thermosphere

HINT